Faith Focus Friday

About six months ago, I shared a bit about the ‘Soul Work’ that’s been happening in me. If you missed that blog post, you can read it HERE.

Guess what? Six months later, I’m still working on the same thing – the work of trusting God… having faith in the One who’s very name is Faithful. And I’ll tell you why. It’s because it seems like we’ve been in ‘the waiting room’ for so long.faith2

The very hardest thing for me is the WAITING. I realize this is partially because I live in such a speed-lane driving, fast-food eating, breaking-news sort of culture. But it’s also simply because the longer I wait, the more I have to work on trusting.

So as sit in the dimly-lit waiting room, I resonate with what one author says.

 

“Waiting may be the hardest single thing

we are called to do.

In the Bible, waiting is so closely associated with faith

that sometimes the two words are used interchangeably.

It is frustrating when we turn to the Bible

and find that God Himself,

who is all-powerful and all-wise,

keeps saying to his people,

‘Be still before the LORD, and wait patiently for him…

Wait for the LORD, and keep to his way,

and he will exalt you to inherit the land.’

Forty-three times in the Old Testament alone,

the people are commanded,

‘Wait. Wait on the LORD.’

-John Ortberg

 

Here’s a thought… maybe what God is doing IN me while I wait (the molding and shaping, the training of character, the pruning, the growing) is JUST AS IMPORTANT as what it is I think I am waiting for. Hmmmmm…..

So I’m calling today “Faith Focus Friday”. Here are a few quotes on ‘faith’ for reflection:

 

“Living a life of faith means never knowing where you are being led.

But it does mean loving and knowing the One who is leading.faith3

It is literally a life of faith, not of understanding and reason –

a life of knowing Him who calls us to go.”

-Oswald Chambers

 

“An example of faith was found on the wall of a concentration camp.

On it, a prisoner had carved the words:

I believe in the sun, even though it doesn’t shine,faith1

I believe in love, even when it isn’t shown,

I believe in God, even when he doesn’t speak.

What eyes could have seen good in such horror? There is only one answer:

Eyes that chose to see the unseen.”

-Max Lucado

 

“What is faith? It is total dependence on God that becomes supernatural in its working.

People with faith develop a second kind of sight.

They see more than just the circumstances;

they see God right beside them.

Can they prove it? No.

But by faith they know He’s there…

Faith alone is the trigger that release driving power.”

-Jim Cymbala

 

“True faith means holding nothing back.

It means putting every hope in God’s fidelity to His Promises.”

-Francis Chan

 

“Waiting means that we give God

the benefit of the doubt

that He knows what He is doing.

It must be patient trust –

trust that is willing to waitfaith

again and again

day after day.”

-John Ortberg

 

That’s exactly what I have to do, over and over again. I have to continually, presently, actively believe that God is trustworthy. That He is worth following… even when I don’t understand where, how, why… Because He is God and I am not.

So I continue to wait… and trust.

Leave a Reply

