Gimme a Break!

How’s the week going? Are you in need of a break? Doesn’t chocolate sound really good? Yummmm. Tap your toes and hum this old commercial with me…

Gimme a break,
Gimme a break, kit kat
Break me off a piece o’ that
Kit Kat bar

A chocolatey snack is a tempting way to give yourself a break. Since I can’t reach through the screen and hand you a Kit Kat, I’m going to offer you an ounce of sweet Truth instead. When I’ve had it and I just want to curl up on the couch with a big ole’ bag of chocolate-anything, I try instead to take a deep breath and speak Truth to myself. I try to have the mind of Christ. To think what He would say to me.

We all get overwhelmed at times. And then frustrated at our own responses to the stressors of life. Here are some words of Truth for you, words of Jesus Christ.

*“IT’S ALL RIGHT TO BE HUMAN…Share a secret smile with Me, knowing that I understand. Rejoice in My Love for you, which has no limits or conditions. Whisper My Name in loving contentment, assured that I will never leave you or forsake you. Intersperse these peaceful interludes abundantly throughout your day. This practice will enable you to attain a quiet and gentle spirit, which is pleasing to Me.

As you live in close contact with Me, the Light of My Presence filters through you to bless others. Your weakness and woundedness are the opening through which the Light of the knowledge of My Glory shines forth. My strength and power show themselves most effective in your weakness.”*

Ingredients for a “piece o’ that”: acceptance of imperfection in yourself, joy that comes from knowing Truth, an honest relationship with your Heavenly Father, confidence in the character of God, a willingness to be used by Him.

Gimme a break! It’s all right to be human! Remember, He understands. And He loves you. Without limit!

***************************************************

*Quote taken from the January 23 entry in Sarah Young’s “Jesus Calling” devotional

jesus

Leave a Reply

