Joe, you’ve gotta go!

Joe, you have GOT to go!

As much as I love you, I’m not sure the hold you have on my life is all that healthy.

I’m sorry… it’s not you, it’s me.

Okay, wait. That’s not totally true. It IS you. But it’s me too…joe

There are plenty of others out there that adore you, Joe… so don’t despair. Please.

I didn’t say that I don’t love you. I do! I LOVE you!!

But you’re just so controlling. I always give in to you.

Ohhhh, why does it have to be so hard????

Coffee. A hot cup of joe. I admit it. I love it!!! I enjoy pouring some in my mug every morning. First thing. And topping it off after its cold, and just half drunk, two hours later. And reheating what’s left to add to my mug after lunch. And maybe, just maybe, brewing a small pot again in the late afternoon. What??? Am I alone in this?

I’ve cycled through this love/hate relationship before. I love coffee; I hate what it does to me, how it becomes something I ‘crave’ so quickly, how the warm cup in my hand or merely the scent of it brewing relaxes my mind. Ugh! And here I am again, going through the process one. more. time. I’m telling you, I AM going to quit drinking coffee every day.(At least for a little while…again.)

Kicking the coffee habit is NOT an easy thing to do. Several times I’ve given up my coffee; I have. But – I always come back to Joe.

To be honest, it’s not so much that I don’t want to drink coffee ever. If I could just drink a cup (a single cup) once in a while, I’d be content. But…

After being delivered from the bondage of coffee consumption, at some point I drink just one small, incredibly delicious, perfectly sweetened mug…and before long, I’m right back to that same spot again. Where I need it! If I could just refrain from putting grounds in the basket of my own little coffee maker! (I think that could be rephrased to read “if I could just practice a little self-control’?) Apparently I’m addicted.

BUT, since this is National Hot Tea Month, (tea month – not coffee…move over Joe!), I thought that rather than go cold-turkey on the coffee I’d try tea replacement therapy. Why tea? Because it’s been called the “key to good health, happiness, and wisdom” in the East for thousands of years! Sounds like a great substitute, wouldn’t you say?coffee

Recently tea has been catching the attention of researchers in the West. And, according to American Dietetic Association spokeswoman Katherine Tallmadge, MA, RD, LD, “There doesn’t seem to be a downside to tea,”! Really???

I’m not so sure about that! I mean, I’ve heard some great things about tea, too, but NOdownside’? To any ‘tea’? Have you ever looked at all the choices of tea in the grocery isle? And have you ever looked for information on this topic? From Doctor Oz to WebMD, there are hundreds of articles, books even, explaining the hows and whys of drinking tea during this National Hot Tea Month.

In my brief time hunting down facts I found that there IS a difference between tea types – green, black, oolong & white teas are different than herbal teas. And  brewed teas are better for you than bottled. The less processed the tea leaves the more nutrition they contain. And, depending on which tea you drink, it may help with heart disease, diabetes, or cancer, encourage weight loss, lower cholesterol, or bring about mental alertness. Apparently, health benefits abound! But, how long should I steep the tea to get the most benefit? Can I drink too many cups in a day? Is organic tea that much healthier than non-organic? Should I sweeten it with maple syrup, cane sugar, or honey? And how much sweetener can I add?!?

Looks like I’ve still got a bit of reading ahead of me (and maybe you do too), but I think I’ll give coffee’s little cousin a chance to win my heart this month. Goodbye, Joe. At least for now.

Leave a Reply

