Bouncing Back After the Holidays

The holidays are over and I’ve got a few extra pounds to shed. I think I’ve put on my ‘winter weight’. Am I alone? Probably not.

To begin 2013, I made it my goal to get some regular exercise.  The obstacles (excuses)?  I’m not motivated to go outdoors to work out in the winter. I don’t have the money to go to a gym. I’ve never really enjoyed exercising to a ‘video’ all by myself. I work full-time (and am on-call 24/7… as all Moms are!).  How many more should I share?

What I really wanted was a free, at-home program for wellness that was easy and fun yet had incredible benefits. Sound unlikely? It’s not, cuz’ I found it! It’s rebounding.

Rebounding is using a portable mini-trampoline to jog, jump, hop, twist, or step-walk in place. Rebounder2

Just read this! Dr. Morton Walker and Albert E. Carter say that “regular rebounding can reduce your body fat, firm your arms, benefit the shape of your legs, hips and abdomen, improve your balance, stimulate your lymphatic system, protect your joints, strengthen your muscles and bones without the trauma of hitting a hard surface, provide an aerobic effect for your cardiopulmonary systems, revitalize your body when it’s tired, and generally put you in a state of mental and physical wellness!” Sounds amazing, huh?!

A few days into the New Year, I pulled our mini-trampoline up from the basement and set it in the corner of the living room. My plan was to start out by jumping for 5 minutes at a time, 2 or more times a day. An easy way to begin, right? The first few days, I DID rebound a couple of times each day and I DID enjoy it. No immediate noticeable improvements, mind you… but I was pleased with my jump start.

I’m sorry to say, however, that it is now almost the end of February and I still have no noticeable improvements. Never fear… the research I did seems to be backed up by countless testimonies. When you commit to rebounding as a fitness plan – and stick with it! – the results are fabulous.  The problem my reality!!! I didn’t make it a priority. I simply failed to hop-to-it most days.

James Whilte, Ph.D., director of research and rehabilitation in the physical education department of UCSD, says that using a rebounder device “you can exercise for hours without getting tired…and it’s a good way to burn off calories and lose weight”.  He also believes it is more effective for fitness and weight loss than cycling, running or jogging… and it produces fewer injuries. OKAY. OKAY. I get it!!! I just need to DO it.

I almost didn’t blog on rebounding because I can’t tell you from experience how incredible this form of exercise is… I can only tell you that from what I learned, it is something I would certainly recommend! (In fact, I’m recommending this to myself – again.) Join me as I try to bounce back after the holidays. Or shall I say get ready for Spring by springing into action! Rebounder1

Jump, jump, jump on your mini-trampoline!  And let me know how it goes for YOU. According to my research, you’ll keep burning calories for hours even after you’ve finished rebounding!

_________________________________________

For more information, go to http://rebound-air.com/best_rebounding_33_ways.htm.

________________________________________

P.S. So far, I think I’ve made use of the rebounder more for my children than myself! During our school days, I find it helpful to send one at a time over to jump off some energy.

P.P.S. Wait a minute… what was it that Walker and Carter (above) said? The rebounder is supposed to ‘revitalize’, right? Maybe I should be sending MYSELF over to the trampoline so I can better keep up with the kiddos!

Leave a Reply

