Earth Paste – A Natural Tub and Tile Cleaner

Here is my favorite cleaner for the sink and tub. A year ago, I finished up my bottle of Soft Scrub and replaced it with this totally natural version. I love it!

EARTH PASTE

In a bowl, mix 1 c. baking soda with ¼ c. liquid Castile soap.

Add 1 T. water. Mix with a fork until smooth.

Lastly, add 1 T. distilled white vinegar.

The mixture will foam nicely as you mix in the vinegar.

Spoon the cleaner into an 8 oz. plastic or glass wide mouth container

with a lid that seals tightly. (I use a 2 cup glass bowl with a plastic lid)

 

TO USE: Simply scoop out a small amount with your hand, a soft cloth or sponge and scrub clean the dirty item (sink bowl, tub walls, tub floor). If the mixture has dried a bit, add a little more warm water and stir. (Mine has never dried out and needed this, however.) When you’re finished, rinse the surface with warm water or vinegar. (I just use water!)

I think this is a fantastic cleaner!  It works really well.  I don’t inhale any noxious fumes when cleaning. I don’t need to wear a mask or gloves. I don’t even have to open the window and turn on the fan! Oh – and my kids can clean with it, too!  (Always a bonus!)

P.S. I’ve purchased Dr.Bronner’s Liquid Castile Soap in a 32 oz. bottle for $14 at a local big box store. (That’ll make 16 batches of the above recipe. In other words, it’ll last a LONG time!)  Smaller size bottles are also available.

Leave a Reply

