Once a Year…

Here’s a quick little game. No blindfolding and spinning you silly before sending you out with a tack in your hand. No bobbing down into a tub of cold water to find an apple several others have already bitten or licked. No riding down a bumpy path on a rickety sideless wagon full of rocking hay bales and rollicking costumed children. Just a few clues… just a word game! Ready?

Clue number 1: Think of a special holiday.

Yes – your birthday is very special, but that’s not what I’m thinking of.

Clue number 2: Think candy, flowers, and cards.

Sorry – the answer is not Valentine’s Day.

Clue number 3: Think autumn.

Nope. It’s not Halloween either. (Seriously… flowers at Halloween?)

Clue number 4: Think sweetness. Think love.

Okay, I’ve got you confused, don’t I? It’s SWEETEST DAY! Don’t tell me you’ve never heard of it?!?!

Sweetest Day is celebrated on the third Saturday of October, once a year! I know, I know…. It’s just another ‘hallmark’ holiday. There’s no ‘history’ behind it. And you may never celebrate it either, but wait. I’d like to use this holiday, Sweetest Day, to remind us of the sweetest gift in our lives… LOVE.

Real love. Love as a choice. Love as a gift that is given to us and that we give to others. And love as action. As I read the paraphrased version (below) of the greatest chapter on love, I had to stop and reflect on how love is genuinely displayed in my home. Much too soon, my children will be grown and gone. What will they remember of their time at home? What will I remember? How am I doing at being alert and alive in the moment? In the now? In real time?

Love {I Corinthians 13 (paraphrased)}

If I keep my house immaculately clean, and am envied by all for my interior decorating, but do not show love in my family – I’m just another housewife.

If I’m always producing lovely things – sewing, art; if I always look attractive, and speak intelligently, but am not loving to my family – I am nothing.

If I’m busy on-line, in community affairs, teach Sunday school, and drive in the carpool, but fail to give adequate love to my family – I gain nothing.

Love changes diapers, cleans up messes, and ties shoes – over and over again.

Love is kind, though tired and frazzled.

Love doesn’t envy another wife – one whose children are “spaced” better, or in school so she has time to pursue her own interests.

Love doesn’t try to impress others with my abilities or knowledge as a mother.

Love doesn’t scream at the kids.

Love doesn’t feel cheated because I didn’t get to do what I wanted to do today – shop, read, zumba, soak in a hot tub.

Love doesn’t lose my temper easily.

Love doesn’t assume that my children are being naughty just because their noise level is irritating.

Love doesn’t rejoice when other people’s children misbehave and make mine look good.

Love is genuinely happy when others are honored by their children.

 

A great reminder to have posted on the fridge, I say! Because in the moment, in the now, in real time, sometimes it’s hard to keep the right perspective! Here’s my commitment from this Sweetest Day forth: In this house, we do real, we do mistakes, we do “I’m sorry”, we do second chances, we do fun ,we do laughter, we do hugs, we do forgiveness, we do LOVE! Love is a verb. It’s action. It’s not so much what you say, but what you do! Do LOVE.

Leave a Reply

