Waffling about Waffles

I came prepared to share a very yummy, allergy-free formula for waffles today. But in the process of looking up the recipe, I began perusing the thesaurus. And there, my friend, is where I learned that “to waffle” (in the verb tense) means “to talk about nothing in particular”… EXACTLY what you do NOT want me to do right now… so I’ll stop and move on.

Now, the recipe for Waffles (or – also from my handy, dandy thesaurus – Gobbledygook. Yes, the noun form of ‘waffle” translates to the word ‘gobbledygook’. Enlightened?)

Okay. Here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

Waffles (no gluten, dairy, corn, soy)

3 cups GF flour (I usually use a mix of potato starch and brown rice flours)

½ cup sugar               2 ½ t. baking powder

1 t. salt                         ½ t. cinnamon

1/3 c. oil                      3 eggs

1 ½ c. water               1 t. vanilla

½ c. Almond milk (or other milk substitute)

½ t. guar gum or xanthan gum

 

Put all the ingredients in a large bowl. Mix until well blended. Pour into waffle maker. Cook until lightly browned. Enjoy (the delicious gobbledygook)!

Leave a Reply

